The 7th ICCB Battle of the Bands Results 2013

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by IJK, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. IJK

    IJK Member

    The 7th ICCB and Staveley Town Council Battle of the Bands contest was held in Staveley near Chesterfield on Sunday 23rd June sponsored again by Conceptunet Ltd and Raw Brewery.
    This year saw adjudicator Kevin Wadsworth judge 14 fine performances the largest entry since the contest had started. He commented after that he was impressed with the standard of playing from all sections including the training band section where we saw 4 bands with a good mix of young players really enjoying the experience of contesting. He did however comment on the 3rd/4th section bands who in the acoustic of the hall on a warm day sometimes over cooked the dynamics which spoilt their performances and was one of the reasons some of the favourites before the contest failed to get into the prizes.
    Event organiser Ian Knapton commented “Its been a long hard day and without the great team of players ICCB have and supporters this contest would not of ran so smoothly and we thank them for their hard work. We would also like to thank Conceptunet and Raw Brewery who have supported us over the last 3 years and help with this event which is part of a whole weekend of events.”
    Band Chairman Graham Weighill also commented “Without the continued support from Staveley Town Council, Conceptunet and Raw Brewery this contest would not be as successful as it is. We would like to thank all the bands for entering and hope to see them next year on Sunday 22nd June”
    For details on next years contest please contact
    The Prize Winners were
    Training band section
    1st Rotherham Schools Youth Band
    2nd Dronfield Genquip Traning Band
    3rd Thurcroft Welfare Training Band
    4th Thurlstone Training Band
    Best Soloist Solo Euph of Rotherham Schools

    3rd/4th section
    1. Rolls Royce Derby (Graham Cardwell)
    2. Dinnington Colliery (Jonathan Beatty)
    3. Maltby Miners Welfare (Terry Clifford)
    4. Kirkby Colliery (Steve Berrill)
    5. Deepcar (Lindon Bolt)
    6. Oughtibridge (Gavin Somerset)
    7. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Keith Buxton)
    8. Hucknall & Linby MC (Paul Whyle)
    9. Thurcroft Welfare (Garry Hallas)
    10. Newhall (Kevin Holdgate)

    Best 4th Section band (Not in the Prizes): Kirkby Colliery Welfare Band
    Best Soloist: Dinnington (Euphonium)

    Best Entertainments/Deportment:
    1st Newhall 22/22 = 44
    2nd Oughtibridge 22/18= 40
    3rd Dinnington 22/16= 38

    Most Entertaining Item (Sponsored by Pennine Music) : Dinnington

    Band's Persons Award (adjudicated by a representative from each band marking each performance apart from their own)

    1st Dinnington
    2nd Pleasley
    3rd Rolls Royce Derby

    Youngest Player: Thurcroft Band

Share This Page