Tenor Horn Mouthpiece for a beginner?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by angdeeoompahpah, Feb 9, 2011.

1. angdeeoompahpah

angdeeoompahpah New Member

I've just started tenor horn lessons & I'm really enjoying playing.
    I asked my teacher about mouthpieces & she said the one I have on my tenor horn,which is a Weril,was fine-however I've been reading a lot in forums & on the web generally that different mouthpieces can make a difference to playing.I know practice,practice,practice is the best way to improve but I'd like to try a different mouthpiece as I'm not totally convinced by the one that came with my instrument.
    Is there a good mouthpiece that anyone can recommend?
    I'm a total novice so any help or advice would be much appreciated :)
  2. Rapier

Rapier Supporting Member

There is no simple answer, as people are always searching for the perfect mouthpiece. I know I have. Some will say, find one and stick with it. Others try lots. Your best bet would be go to a shop and try a few. Try a Dens Wick, maybe a size 2, or 3.
  3. angdeeoompahpah

Thank you :) That seems to be the one I've heard most about.I think a trip to the shops to try it out might be the best way forward.
  4. Aussie Tuba

Aussie Tuba Member

with being a beginner I would stick with what came with the instrument. If you are learning with a Band you may change to a different instrument. before you finnish your beginner status. (we never stop learning) and you could be spending money for no good reason. Wait a while, see where you finnish up before decieding on a new peice of equiptment. As a beginner I started on a cornet, moved to a Baritone then a Euphonium before ending up on Eb Bass. I was on a cornet about a month Baritone a couple of Years, Euphonium a couple of Years and Eb Bass since 1975.
  5. angdeeoompahpah