Tenor Horn Mouthpiece Advice

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by brasswizard, Jan 6, 2015.

1. brasswizard

brasswizard New Member

Hi Guys,

I am new to playing again after a horrific time healthwise and have a few questions regarding Tenor Mouthpieces andd looking for some advice.. I know this topic has probably been well covered but i thought i would ask a fresh question.

Basically a lot i see recommend the Denis Wick No.2 nowadays or some say play withthe biggest you can or some i see say play with smallest you can get away with etc.. but I recently was given an older DW 2 to try and get back playing and even with weeks off trying it just didn't sound well for in terms of tone etc.. however i then came across a Wick 2A.. which is a lot deeper and after practising with this mouthpiece found it gave a better tone (for me) and found articulation slightly better and more acurate with the slightly deeper cup depth!
    However with being ultra fussy, I prefer the slightly wider cup diameter the DW2 has and the cup depth the 2A gives which would be the perfect mouthpiece i feel for me and i'm asking is there such a thing out there?

I have 2 DW mouthpiece charts which were given to me by 2 music suppliers and believe it or not the mouthpiece dimensions etc for the DW2 and others are different!! so i am wondering if there has been a tooling change in the Wick mouthpieces over the years recently? or a bad typing error on a chat update.. ?

Anyway i did briefly try the Alliance 2 way back before my injuries and can say that although its a TH2 it is not by any means the same as a Wick 2 ! for me i find it a lot bigger and the instrument was harder to fil on the Alliance..