Technological Advances in Brass Band concerts?

Discussion in ' User Reviews' started by 2007besson2052, Mar 12, 2007.

1. I am a drummer as well as a Euphonium player and last year went to a large drum exhibition in London. The same month I also went to a gig of a band called Delirious. At both of these hugely successful events, the performances were supported by VISUAL aids which made a massive difference. :clap:

They both had a projector with a camera attached. This was just a basic video camera with a lead connecting it to the projector. This zoomed in and showed, in detail, the band members playing. This is fascinating for people watching! I'm sure you agree. Why couldn't this happen with brass bands? There are so many small details to watch of a high level brass band playing.

I believe this would also attract a younger generation of brass band followers. They could see more, enjoy the sound and visual experience of the concert! The equipment could be bought for a lot less than one instrument or hired for a concert.

What does everyone think? I know bands like Black Dyke don't have any trouble packing out a concert hall, but maybe other good bands which aren't quite that good, could fill more seats with a younger generation.
  2. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

I think the first steps have been taken with some of the major brass band contests (WMC, Euros, English Nats)...but alot more could be done, not only for the "younger" generation, but for those of us that really want to see the fingers moving!
  3. Yeah exactly: fingers moving, slides moving, expression on faces and even seeing people apart from the front row. Poor tuba players so rarely get viewed from the audience!