sterling virtuoso euph.

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by adrian90s, Dec 2, 2008.

1. adrian90s

adrian90s Member

After borrowing Mike Dodds virtuoso for last years Butlins and liking it enormously, I persuaded my band (Yorkshire Imps) to find me one and trade in my Besson 967 GS.
    Dave Moore advertised one on e-bay and we won the bid, after 4 weeks use (Starting on St. Magnus) I have to say the trumpet sounds great with the higher register sounding easier.
    But.....

The overall finish of the instrument is poor, week 1 saw a first slide water key drop off, easy fix.
    week 2 saw the whole trigger assembly fall off due to poor design on the 5mm thick weak bracket.
    It's now a standing joke within the band at what's next. The pipework is poorly routed and the main slide is so slack that you can wobble it when fully pushed home. Being an engineer myself, it looks like it was knocked up in a garden shed! I'm glad it was'nt my money.
    But.....

It plays beautifully

Any comments anyone?.... Mr Riggett perhaps?

Adrian Nurney Yorkshire Imps.

2. ploughboy

ploughboy Active Member

Have you contacted Sterling directly? I know they guy there is very ghelpful and keen, When Mike Howley left his behind the car before reversing out of his space he was excellent at putting it back in order!!

And to be fair, it sounded blooming good on Sat!!

Last edited: Dec 3, 2008
  3. adrian90s

adrian90s Member

Thanks Gary,

Paul from Sterling rang me first thing this morning offering to put right any problems. To be fair, this trumpet is 3 years old and the modern ones are unaffected by my faults. I hope to sing the repaired instrument's on this forum before christmas.

Thanks

4. SuperCat

SuperCat Member