Soprano playing

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Soprano_saes, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Soprano_saes

Soprano_saes New Member

Hey,

Does anyone have any advice or can recommend any books which help improve the higher register of soprano players! I've been playing Sop for about two months now and am well pleased with my sound, but am unfortunately haveing difficulty with maintaining the higher register.

Anyone have any advice?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Soprano
    Hey
    Sop
    higher register of soprano players
    haveing difficulty
  3. imthemaddude

imthemaddude Active Member

A pin?........

4. Griffin

Griffin Active Member

I'd recommend Charles Collin's Advanced Lip Flexibilities book.
    It will take time to build up the strength in your chops, but its the best thing for stamina.

Good Luck

5. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

6. Adrian Horn

Adrian Horn Member

Use whatever you would use on the Bb Cornet. Arban, Collins, Quinque ... any good method book that you are used to and just practice as you would on the Bb but on the Sop instead.

How is your range on the Bb? if you can only just get top C on the Bb then you will probably struggle to get higher than a G on the Sop. Even though the instrument is smaller, the vibrations you have to set up for a G on the sop are the same as the vibrations you set up for a C on the Bb.

I would say that if you are going to play sop regularly, your Bb cornet range should go up to a pretty solid F above top C.

7. ian perks

ian perks Active Member

Try listening to the late Brian Evans CD.
    Should help you with the such ease that is played by him.
    For me the GREATEST SOPRANO PLAYER EVER.
    R.I.P :Brian Evans.:clap:

8. dickyg

dickyg Member