Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Trom41821, Dec 7, 2004.

1. Trom41821

Trom41821 Member

I have just started to use this free service and wanted to share it with all tMPer's

My brother lives in America so it's great as long as he is at his PC and I'm at mine we can have a free conversation. All you need are speakers and a microphone or headset and microphone all in one r if you are really posh a monitor with mike and speakers included!

It's free to download and free to use. Don't worry I'm not on commission but just wanted to share somethingthat was FREE.

Apparently (though I'm no expert) the internet connection is made up of 6 wires, but only 2 are used, Skype makes use of a 3rd. I'm sure somebody out there will be able to explain it more coherently ;)
  2. MRSH

MRSH Supporting Member

Our IT Manager (Paul) lives in Australia :confused:. He's a student (aka tax dodger ;);))

Anyway, before he left he found out about Skype and installed it on our machines in the office - 15 of them. All have headsets with microphones.

A little story I would like to share. Briefly.

The day he flew out to Aus our whole system crashed. BT (our phone and broadband provider) were responsible. I phoned them. They couldn't help me 'cos the password he had set up was his mothers maiden name. I phoned his mum, got maiden name, sorted with BT.

Within the hour my Skype phone rang. It was Paul. You have a problem he said. He was sitting in the wireless connection lounge of Singapore airport. He was talking to me on Skype as he dialled in to our system and within 10 minutes - all sorted.

Skype is fantastic. And if you subscribe (for very little) you can call any land line in the world for free. Astonishing.
  3. rutty

rutty Active Member

That's not true. Skype uses voice over IP technology and uses exactly the same wires as you normal phone line, which has probably only got two wires coming in.