Should I switch to bass?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Missy_Gracie, Apr 21, 2012.

1. Missy_Gracie

Missy_Gracie Member

I'm just beginning to wonder. I'm 28, and a newish (less than 12 months) player. I'm playing the tenor horn, as that was the logical start, Husbands cornet too small, and his bass too big for me to make a noise let alone a note. So a bit like goldilocks he turned up from band with a tenor horn, which being in Eb like his bass seemed just right. However, of the two local bands we play with one has a full horn section, and in the one I regularly make it to I'm 3rd 2nd horn- way way down in the pecking order. I'm unlikely at my age ever to be good enough to make solo horn, not that I'm fussed for promotion and glory.
    So I come to the question, now I can play my horn a bit, I've had a go on the other halfs bass again. and I can make notes! (granted it makes my eyeballs vibrate) It doesn't sound great, but I guess it could be made to sound ok. Given the general shortage of bass players (ok one of our bands has a full bass section, but the other only has 2 Ebs, one of whom I could give a run for his money, and the second is my other half) should I be borrowing a Bb bass and learning to make low low notes? I'm just thinking there are loads and loads of good tenor horn players out there, and thousands of mediocre ones, and even more like me who are rubbish, therefore would it be easier, and more useful to be a rubbish Bb player than a rubbish horn player? (neither of our bands compete, so it's not like I'm overlooked or anything, we all just play together)

2. iancwilx

iancwilx Active Member

Go for it, you'll love it.
    I too was a very mediocre horn player who made the change to EEb Bass (Under duress from Peter Kitson, a fearsome band trainer) when I was 14 and have loved everything about it ever since. I hope playing bass gives you the same tremendous pleasure it's given me. Peter Kitson did me a real favour !

~ Mr Wilx