Sharp tenor horn

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Horn2A, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Horn2A

Horn2A New Member

Hi there

I have an issue in that ever since I started playing, I have always been sharp. I am fortunate enough to have been able to borrow a horn from the bands I've played with in the past and have nearly always played on a besson sovereign - I feel quite comfortable with this instrument.

I have a besson sovereign from the band I currently play with, however, the tuning slide on it is much shorter than any I've had before. I need the length of the tuning slide to counteract the fact that I always play sharp and am looking for suggestions as to where to buy a new a new (long!) tuning slide for a besson sovereign horn that is perhaps 15 - 20 years old.

I am mindful of other suggestions (i.e. try a new mouthpiece - which I've already done) but am really just looking where to find a new slide for now.

Thanks

2. worzel

worzel Member

The girl who sits next to me in band has exactly the same problem. Like I told her, you might want to try Phil Parkers at 106a Crawford Street, LONDON, W1H 2HZ.

3. Horn2A

Horn2A New Member

Wow, that's weird. A guy who sits next to me in band told me that too? They only have the new models.. Which apparently don't fit.

4. worzel

worzel Member

Oh. I thought they could do, or at least get done, custom alterations and repairs.

That is weird about the guy who sits next to you.

5. Aussie Tuba

Aussie Tuba Member

a good instrument tech should be able to help ( Manufacture a new slide or make an extension )

6. chrisjohnston

chrisjohnston Member

7. TrumpetTom

TrumpetTom Member

The slide legs on my main tuning slide on my trumpet were too small, so I ended up getting some new ones made. This may be an idea.

Tom

8. chrisjohnston

chrisjohnston Member

I asked Will at willspencer for you below his his reponse.