School Bands

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by mikelyons, Jun 3, 2004.

Should school bands be a compulsory part of education for musicians

1. Yes

2. No

3. In desperation only

4. Never

1. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

I'm a music teacher in a school in Wigan. We currently have a 'band' of 4 including myself. In previous years, thanks to commitment from parents we have had as many as 15 and have reached a high standard.

We lost a lot of players two years ago and since then I've struggled to keep the band going. Even though I know of several good-average players in school, they refuse to come to rehearsals. Not only that, but their parents seem to actively discourage them from coming. It seems to be OK for them to play solos at school concerts but not for them to come to band.

What do you think. Should school band be compulsory?
  2. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

I don't think it is ever a good thing to make things compulsory at school, as it will often turn people against it instantly. There may a case for insisting on attendance at a couple of rehearsals, so that everyone who plays at least gives it a go, but not on an ongoing basis.

From my experience of the American scene, at least as portrayed in other forums, many students out there have been put off music entirely due to being forced to participate in band activities.

As to how to attract people to sign up of their own accord, no easy answers I'm afraid, other than trying to make it as attractive and interesting as possible, and working to get the backing of the "powers that be" as well as parents.
  3. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

I've voted yes on this one...
    My brothers school had compulsory for music... Every year 7 student had to take up an instrument and they had orchestras in years 7, 8 and 9 and then a senior orchestra for years 10 and above... also other groups the students put together; pop groups etc...