scaba Autumn Contest 2014

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by Accidental, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. Accidental

    Accidental Supporting Member

    West Sussex
    scaba's annual Autumn Contest will be held at The Hawth in Crawley this Sunday 28th September.

    Paul Norley – 3rd, Youth and 1st Sections
    Mike Kilroy – 2nd and Championship Sections

    Bands Entered:
    Aveley & Newham
    BAE Systems
    Becontree Brass
    Brass Band Gent
    Brighton & Hove City Brass
    Chichester City
    Chinnor Silver
    Cold Ash Brass
    East London Brass
    Epsom & Ewell Silver
    Fairlop Brass
    Friary Guildford
    Horsham Borough
    LGB Brass
    Northfleet Brass
    Regent Community Brass
    Shanklin Town Brass
    Shanklin Town Youth
    Shepway Brass Academy
    Vectis Youth
    Wantage Silver

    Tickets are available on the day; the contest starts at 10am
  2. BrightonHove

    BrightonHove Member

    Brighton & Hove City Brass have withdrawn
  3. Accidental

    Accidental Supporting Member

    West Sussex
    We had a great day at The Hawth yesterday.
    Congratulations to the prize winners and big thanks to all competing bands and to Jane Stewart and the scaba team for a smooth-running, enjoyable contest.

    Full results:

    Youth Section - adjudicator Paul Norley
    1. Shanklin Town Youth, Malcolm Lewis
    2. Shepway Brass Academy, Christer Aberg
    Withdrawn - Vectis Youth

    Best instrumentalist - Alex Warner, cornet, Shanklin
    Conductor's prize - Christer Aberg, Shepway

    Third Section - adjudicator Paul Norley
    1. Cobham, Glen Hayter
    Withdrawn - Brighton & Hove City Brass

    Best instrumentalist - Matthew Seggons, Euphonium, Cobham

    Second Section - adjudicator Mike Kilroy
    1. Cold Ash Brass, Jemma Evans
    2. Regent Community Brass, Chris Bearman
    3. LGB, Ian Stewart
    4. Chichester City, Tim Cooper
    5. Shanklin Town, Malcolm Lewis
    Withdrawn: Amersham, Chinnor

    Best instrumentalist - Derfel Williams - Baritone, Cold Ash
    Best Horn Section - Regent Community
    Best Solo Horn - Bryan Long - Regent Community
    Best Percussion Section: Cold Ash
    Conductor's Prize - Jemma Evans, Cold Ash

    First Section - adjudicator Paul Norley
    1. Northfleet, Melvin White
    2. Horsham Borough, Andrew Kershaw
    3. BAE Systems, Jonathon Crowhurst
    4. Tilbury, Andrew Austin
    5. Epsom & Ewell, Jack Smith
    6. Fairlop, Kevin Jordan
    7. Otterbourne, Gareth Pritchard

    Best Instrumentalist - Barbara King - Solo Cornet, Northfleet
    Best Euphonium - Martin Smith - Euphonium, Horsham
    Best Bass Section - Northfleet
    Conductor's Prize - Jack Smith, Epsom & Ewell

    Championship Section - adjudicator Mike Kilroy
    1. Friary Guildford, Chris King
    2. Wantage Silver 'A', Philip Bailey
    3. East London, Jayne Murrill
    4. Aveley, Melvin White
    5. Becontree, Nigel Taken
    6. Brassband Gent, Lieven Dobbelaer

    Best Instrumentalist - Matt Schroeter - Flugel, Becontree
    Best Percussion Section - Friary
    Best Euphonium - Sam Wyne - Wantage
    Best Bass Section - Wantage
    Conductor's Prize - Chris King, Friary

    scaba Band of the year 2014 - Shanklin Town Youth

    (and thanks MoominDave for getting the full result up on bbr so quickly..... we just need the test-pieces played for sections 1 - Y now please folks!)
  4. markh

    markh Member

    Well done to the winners. I believe BAE played Pageantry
  5. Born Again Hovis Man

    Born Again Hovis Man Member

    Northfleet played Variations on a 9th
  6. BrianT

    BrianT Member

    Wantage, Oxfordshire

    I've always wondered what the criteria are for the Conductor's Prize and why the prize exists at all.

    If I were awarding this prize, I don't think I could do it without attending rehearsals to see how the conductor goes about communicating his musical vision to the band. I'm pretty sure the adjudicators don't do this, and on the day they are in a tent so they can't see physical conducting technique. They have no idea who the conductor is or his intent. All they have to go on is the sound of the band itself, so I don't see how they can do anything else but award the Conductor's prize to the winning band, which quite often they do.

    But - if the conductor's prize doesn't go to the winning band, I don't understand how that is possible.

    I'm not having a dig at anyone - I'm genuinely puzzled what this prize means and how it is awarded...
  7. GJG

    GJG Well-Known Member

    A pub, Surrey, UK
    Not sure about these days, but in the old Folkestone days the announcement used to go something like: (forgive my poor memory if this isn't exactly right) " ... awarded to the conductor, not necessarily of the winning band, who in the opinion of the adjudicator gave the best interpretation of the chosen test piece."

    The announcer always used to stress the "not necessarily of the winning band" bit, and the adjudicators often used to follow the brief, although I think some used to automatically award to the winning band's conductor. I think the idea was to recognise that an adjudicator could tell by listening that the conductor had prepared a musical performance, but that on the day the band hadn't been able to deliver. If the brief is followed, then personally I don't see a problem with awarding the prize to the conductor of a band other than the winners.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice