Research project on the history of British Colliery Bands

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Marion Henry, Nov 30, 2017.

1. Marion Henry

Marion Henry New Member

I am a doctoral student in history at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. My research focuses on the organisation of musical activities in selected British coalfields between 1945 and 1984 (Scotland, the Midlands and the North-East of England). As part of this research I’m conducting a series of interviews with brass band players who used to work in a coalmine and were active during the period of interest (it can be a couple of years at some point between 1945 and 1984).

Participating would entail meeting up in person for an interview at some point over the next 12 months. The interview would be audio recorded, then transcribed and archived for posterity at the Scottish Oral History Centre (SOHC) at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, where it would be accessible to other researchers and members of the public if you consent (there are also options to have it be available for researchers but not the public, or to be fully anonymized, depending on your preferences). I will do my best to ensure that it is an enjoyable experience for you. If you are interested in taking part in this study or know anyone who might be, please send me a message. I can send you more information on what the study entails, along with consent forms for you to review.

I am also looking from former colliery bands archives (phorographs, account books, minutes books etc.) if you know where I could find such documents.

Thank you in advance

Marion

2. ghost

ghost Member

Good afternoon