Research Project On Pedaling

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by TubaSousa, Feb 7, 2011.

1. TubaSousa

TubaSousa New Member

I am a third year music student. I am doing my dissertation on the study of pedaling. At the moment I am not looking for opinions as I know, as a tuba player there are many different views on the topic.
    Does anyone know of, or have any research on this as my search has brought myself very little so for.

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

2. Thirteen Ball

Thirteen Ball Active Member

As for actual research into it, I'm certainly not aware of any formal enquiry that's been done into the effect on a band sound. You may have to do a fair bit of digging yourself on this one.

For pieces played with a lot of additional bottom-octave, Cory's 'Brass band Classics' range of CDs contain large amounts of unwritten low-register stuff, with (if I might be so bold as to say) little attention to context, so may be a useful tool in examining the effect in different musical circumstances. It's particularly obvious in "An Epic Symphony" and Bram Gay's transcription of "Les Preludes" which I think are both on Volume 2. (Both of which contain examples where pedalling could be seen as of benefit to the music, and examples where to my mind it completely destroys the balance of the lower band!)

They also have the added bonus that they also contain very well-known pieces so can be readily compared with other recordings, which will most likely contain less pedal-work.

Hope that helps!!
  3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

What questions do you seek to answer with your research? I'm curious...
  4. animal.22

animal.22 Member

It's a ****** going up hill !!!!! :biggrin:

Sorry,couldn't resist it. I'll get my coat.
  5. GJG

GJG Well-Known Member