Recording your own CD - Copyright?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by you-ff, Jul 21, 2006.

1. you-ff

you-ff New Member

Hi all,

We're considering recording a new band CD. We have various local contacts who can record the music, reproduce the CDs and print the artwork. What else would we need to consider? In particular we'd like to hear any rules, thoughts or opinions about copyright.

Thank you!
  2. Bass Trumpet

Bass Trumpet Active Member

Best get in touch with the Performing Rights Society. They will be happy to send you some guidelines about it. As far as royalties are concerned, I think you can get away with paying a one-off fee to them as long as you agree to the number of cd's you will be producing. I'm no expert on this, but I think that it's much easier to understand than in once was. Of course, you could always programme a few original arrangements/compositions which are unpublished, then just agree a royalty to the person directly, or they might waive it for an acknowledgement in the sleeve.
  3. KMJ Recordings

KMJ Recordings Supporting Member

If you haven't already, read my guide to CD recording thread here.

The permission to record copyrighted arrangements and / or compositions is governed by the MCPS, not the PRS. Usually, you'll be looking at an AP2 agreement which - as Bass Trumpet has stated - is a one off payment. The amount of the payment is proportional to the number of units you produce and to their selling price. As a ballpark figure, it costs around £325 for 500 CDs.

Not all repertoire is covered by the MCPS and may, for example, be under Copyright Control. This is one situation where you may need to negotiate additional permissions and fees with the Copyright holder(s).

The copyright to the artwork belongs to the originator (unless contracted otherwise).

The copyright in the sound recording belongs to the recording company (unless contracted otherwise).