Questions about Maestros

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Offbeats, Oct 7, 2005.

1. Offbeats

Offbeats Member

Hi all...

I'm studying music at university next year, and as such i need to get myself a better cornet, preferably new... i have been looking at the following options

besson sovereign
    yamaha maestro
    courtois chambord II

what does everyone recommend in their experience...being from australia, i have mostly worked with/ played amongst i guess my question is how do the other brands compare?

for example...i have heard whispers that the maestros are too 'bright' in tone quality to be used in a brass band setting...what are peoples thoughts/ experiences in this area? maestro owners - have you found your instruments blend well with the section, and are their still able to produce that dark cornet tone (which i guess is the convention)?

any help at all would be great...

2. trumpetmike

trumpetmike Active Member

Are you in a position to try these instruments out before you buy?

Instrument choice is a very personal thing, what works for one person is quite likely not to be the best choice for everyone, you need to find what instrument/mouthpiece combination allows you to achieve the tone, intonation and playability that you are looking for.

Of the ones you mentioned:
    Sovereign - well, it's the classic. Saying that I haven't played a Sovereign (built in the past 10 years) that I have enjoyed playing. I have always found the intonation to be "squirrelly" at best - I found finding the centre of notes very difficult. The tone is the redeeming feature, but FOR ME, the intonation was just too much to cope with.

Courtois - Terrible intonation. It made the Sovereign look good. The tone was lighter than the Sovereign - I would have enjoyed this as a solo (with piano) type instrument, but I found it very difficult to achieve my desired tone from it - combine that with the intonation and I would place this last, from MY experience.