question for Sop players

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by johnys, Jul 5, 2009.

1. johnys

johnys New Member

Many years ago i played Soprano cornet and wasn't allowed to play any other instrument as i was told it would spoil my lip ,do any other sop players double up on any other instrument ,does it cause a problem, fact or fiction.
  2. jrshimmon

jrshimmon Member

It does for me in rehearsals. I can pick up my Bb at the begining or end of rehearsal, ask me to play it in the middle and thats my lip of the Sop destroyed for the rest of the evening. I would say I am relatively new to the Sop and this may just be weaknesses in my embouchure coming out.
  3. David Mann

David Mann Member

It doesn't bother me, I can play other instruments and retain my mediocrity on sop.
  4. davel1975

davel1975 New Member

When I tried sop I was switching between sop and Bb and it did my lip no favours and pitching took about 15 mins to sort out on sop. I know some do it but if you want to be primarily a sop player I'd suggest not switching (at least for 12-18 months so you get used to the sop). I love playing Bb so I gave sop up.
  5. QAD

QAD Member

I would say that it's down to the individual. Most well trained Trumpet players have no problem playing Bb, C, D, Eb, or pic trumpets one after the other and it shouldn't be any different for Bb and Eb cornet. As long as you have the basics, lip flexibilities and all, can't see it makes a difference.
    I still practice Bb, D, and Eb regularly but I don't play regularly for any bands at the mo because I spend the little time I have these days conducting - so you can ignore me for that reason!
  6. pagliacci

pagliacci Member