Punishing Band Members

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by DublinBass, Jan 15, 2008.

1. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

http://www.cnn.com/video/#/video/us/2008/01/15/guadian.tx.band.teacher.spit.

As a science teacher, I am less appalled by the punishment as I am by the insinuation that 26 different kids' "spit" were on his son's hands!!

I'd be willing to bet that 99+% of the liquid was water. "Spit" valve is such a misleading phrase when it is really the combination of warm breath and a colder horn condensing water vapor in the air that is primarily responsible for the liquid coming out of our horns rather than "spit" or saliva itself.

Would parents be outraged if the band director said "for punishment you must hold your hands on the fawcet while it runs for 2 minutes?" Not really, much difference in my book.

And we wonder why the lowest Standardised test scores are in science!

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Band Members
    kids
    water
    phrase
    combination
  3. Shaggy

Shaggy New Member

not sure if i agree or not, having no idea what a "fawcet" is.

4. DublinBass

Sorry..."faucet"

:S

5. yank67

yank67 Member

tap for the UK folks:)

6. needmorevodka

needmorevodka Member

I think it is disgusting and it makes me feel quite nauseous. Even if there really is little difference between the contents of a horn and water from the tap, I would no more touch it (or put up with my child being forced to touch it) than I would drink it! Having said that, I feel that way about tap water too occasionally!

7. Di

Di Active Member

All I'm getting is a black box? Any idea why this isn't loading?

Edit : Just hit "ie tab" and somethings has lloaded. Although I tried that last night too and it still didn't work then. Ah well.

Edit edit : Not the "spit" report though. Doh!

8. needmorevodka

needmorevodka Member