Promotion, Relegation, Regional Section Rankings - the system

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by Al, Nov 5, 2007.

1. Al

Al Member

This was being discussed off topic elsewhere and perhaps it deserves its own thread.

As I see it (and I am no expert):

Bands are awarded points based on their performance at the Regional Contests and this will place each band into positions in their respective sections - Championship, 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th.

However, unlike the obvious similarities with the Football League table system, the top/bottom 2 or 3 do not necessarily get promoted/relegated as I understand the performance in the National Finals can also be taken into consideration. And other things.

A Bands points are totalled over the previous 3 years performance in the Regionals although when a band is promoted it is awarded the average mark of its new Section over the previous 2 years. Likewise when relegated the average marks are awarded.

I believe that when a band withdraws or did not compete (DNC) then it is awarded the lowest marked band's points +1.

In another thread I raised the following observation:

to which one of the replies made the point:

So if the organising committee can allow an obviously strong band to jump a section without even competing at the Regionals/Nationals, should they equally have the power to demote a band if a few of them leave?

Or should there be clear cut rules - the Adjudicators decision is final and the Adjudication should be what governs promotion/relegation etc. not a round the table committee or a nod and a wink or whatever?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    thread.As
    Regional Section Rankings
    Regional Contests
    points system
  3. Anno Draconis

Anno Draconis Well-Known Member