professional insurance

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by michellegarbutt, Jan 23, 2007.

1. michellegarbutt

michellegarbutt Supporting Member

I've just taken out a new contents policy on our house and noticed that they covered personal possesions outside the home and named things you might want to cover, golf clubs, jewellry etc. right at the end it says musical instruments (which need to be specified). Great I can get my baritone covered or so I thought. I contacted the company with the details of my instrument and was told because I play in a brass band I am a professional and need business insurance. I argued the point, told them I am not professional I've never been paid in my life for playing, pointed out that it was a hobby that I followed 2 nights a week plus some weekends. Everything was done in my spare time.Also pointed out the brass band movement is an amateur movement. I even pointed out it's no different to someone who sings in an amateur stage society or someone who plays bowls for the local park team but all to no avail. As far as my insurance company are concerned I am professional and they will not cover my baritone through house insurance. Has anyone else had any similar probs and if so how did you overcome them. I know I can insure seperately else where but I really begrudge paying the extra when my contents policy says musical instruments are covered as long as I notify the company of what I have.

2. jamieow

jamieow Member

waste of time putting musical instuments on your house insurance.
    Real expensive too. I put my Tuba on for 3 months to go to Canada and cost £250 or something!! 3 Months!!!
    I insure all of my stuff through a company called Musicians Insurance Service - 3 different types of cover - amateur to professional.
    Reall good, part of Norwich Union. I'll pm you later with the details as they're actually in the car as I'm about to renew.