Professional/Forces players

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Jasonp, Apr 17, 2004.

?

Professionals, Yes or No?

1. Yes

95.8%
  2. No

4.2%
  1. Jasonp

Jasonp Member

I haven't been a member of this site for long but I've come across a few posts from people that have knocked bands for using Professional or Forces players.
    Being an army musician myself I find it a little upsetting to think that people dont want to see us in the brass band movement. Most brass players would have started playing in a brass band as a child and we will always have the hunger for contesting which is something you dont get in the army.
    The same goes for collage students, I'm sure we will always have a passion for playing in a brass band and I dont see a problem with us being allowed to play. Besides, we are not only maintaining the high standards within the bands but also boosting numbers.
    I was in Swansea for the area contest last month and saw that two of the first section bands had pro trumpet players as their principle cornets, one of which plays for the Halle and I belive the other plays for the BBC Welsh. I dont have a problem with that. If these players want to play for a brass band then so be it.

So, I suppose what I'd really like to find out is, what's the general opinion?
    Pro's - in or out?

2. George BB

George BB Member

There should not, and as far as I'm aware, there is no difference in amateur and professional musicians. Except of course that full time Pros make their living from it (lucky people)
    The very word amateur comes from the French for Lurve and if anyone didn't love it they certainly couldn't perform (music)
    When I started Banding there were very strict divisions but common sense prevailed and they were swept away so if you love playing, then just do it whatever people class you as.

3. Trigger

Trigger Member