Probably done the rounds before

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Dave Payn, Dec 4, 2003.

1. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
    >Selection Committee
    >220 S. Michigan Avenue
    >Chicago, Illinois
    >I wish to apply immediately for the job of Second Trombone and I already have the two trombones. Although I have not played much in an
    >orchestra, I have played along with lots of classic (no vocal) records.
    >I found that if I slowed them up a little that the songs automatically
    >went into the flat keys which are much easier, but I think I could do
    >the sharp keys in a short time. I was a student for several years of
    >Mr. Remington (Buck, not Emory) and then went with the circus band where >my tone really got great. You don't have to worry about me being able >to blast through on the Vogner stuff, that's for sure. After I watched >"10", I got out my horn and worked up a really great solo on "Bolero", >(do you know that there is a dance by this name too?) but I still have >trouble knowing when to come in with the record. Does your arrangement sound the same all the way through, too?

Anyway, I know that if I get the job that the people in Chicago will like my version which is do-wop.
    >Would I have to sit real close to the violins? They never seem to play
    >very loud and my tone sort of cuts off if I have to play too soft so it
    >would be best if I could sit in front of the drums, like in the circus
    >band. Also, I'd kind of like to sit on the outside so that people could
    >see me.
    >I am practicing every day for the audition and am working on a new thing called legato, but it's still a little smeary. I think you'll like it
    >though. But, if your music is anything like this Rubank stuff, it will
    >be a challenge to me -teck--techininuque--tequch- ability. There is a
    >position on trombones called 5th, but hardly any notes are there. Does