Possibly a stupid question re trombone music

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by toby182, Mar 2, 2010.

1. toby182

toby182 New Member

Hi all,
    Well, i'm a bit new to the world of brass banding, especially as a trombonist (I used to play a lot, but on Euphonium). I've got a blow lined up with a local band, and they kindly sent me the piece they are currently working on. I was a bit suprised to find that the part they sent (2nd trombone) is in treble clef. Apologies if this sounds like a complete novice comment, but I have never played in a brass band on trombone. I've done lots of orchestral work so can read tenor and alto clef, and of course bass. But i've never played in treble.

So, my first question is this - is all trombone music for brass band scored in treble clef?

2nd question - will this be in concert, or Bb? If in Bb, I can just read as tenor clef, right? (adjusting the key accordingly)

Thanks in advance of your help!

Toby

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    banding
    all
    trombone
    world
    band
  3. ploughboy

ploughboy Active Member

Hi Toby,

Yes, all BB 2nd Trom parts are in treble clef (Bb). with the very rare exceptions that are quite old coipes of pieces that occasionally turn up with a Tenor clef.

We are very different to the rest of the musical world. Although to keep it interesting, the Bass Trombonist will be reading Bass Clef in C!!!

Welcome to tMP and Banding!

4. euphsrock

euphsrock Member

Yes,
    1st and 2nd Trom is always in treble clef Bb.
    Bass Trom should be in bass clef C.
    Tenor clef will work but you have to adjust the key signature. If you read treble euph then you can match slide positions to valve combinations, eg. open valves= 1st position, 2nd valve= 2nd position 1st valve= 3rd position and so on.....