Please Help

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by flower girl, Sep 24, 2006.

1. flower girl

flower girl Member

Hi
    For a mini dissatation this year i'm studying the formation of the brass band, i'm needing to find out which was the very first brass band, the founder of it, and how the instrumentation and styles of music being played has changed and modernised through out the years. Does any one have any idea's how i can find out about this, i also need to get brass banders opinions on whether the changes have been for the better or not and why they feel like this.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as i have no idea where to begin really.

Thanks
    Lisa

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    HiFor
    changes
    brass banders opinions
    instrumentation
    styles of music
  3. DaveR

DaveR Active Member

Not sure if anyone knows when the first brass band was formed. You may find the info about the Cyfarthfa band interesting though - I think John Wallace and someone else who's name escapes me (I'll edit this post if it comes back to me!) wrote a book about this, as well as recording a CD using period instruments and music.

EDIT: It was Trevor Herbert, who also wrote "The British Brass Band: A Musical and Social History" - that might help you.

Last edited: Sep 24, 2006
  4. ian perks

ian perks Active Member

well one of the oldest brass bands still going to day is Stalybridge and then probably either Black Dyke or Besses oth Barn

5. Morgans Bach

Morgans Bach Member

I've seen it quoted somewhere on the internet that Coxlodge Institute Band (Newcastle) was formed in 1808, and that Stalybridge Band was formed in 1809, which makes them some of the oldest brass band in Britain at least. I'm no authority on this subject whatsoever, but I'll hazard a guess that you may have to be careful when sifting through refernce documents etc, as many brass bands have had different ailiases over the years.