pBone vs real trombone

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Rob, Mar 27, 2015.

1. Rob

Rob Member

Question for the brass teachers out there: I'm considering buying a set of pBones (and maybe pTrumpets) for my school. Does anyone have any thoughts on whether this is a good idea or whether I should spend a bit more and get 'real' instruments? They are mostly going to be used with younger kids, say ages 8-12. Bear in mind that I teach at an all boys' school so instruments do get trashed on a fairly regular basis :)

Thanks

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    pBone
    pBones
    pTrumpets
    thoughts
    instruments
  3. Bbmad

Bbmad Active Member

Good question Rob. I am no expert having only taken up the bone very recently, I am given to understand that Pbones are becoming increasingly popular. Those in the know certainly rate these instruments.

Those little rascals.

4. DS2014

DS2014 Active Member

For your purposes, they would be ideal. They're relatively cheap, robust, responsive, and accurately tuned.

5. yeomills

yeomills New Member

P bones are good and in the right hands sound like a brass one. I. Am not happy with the p trumpet and for a similar cost a brass trumpet or cornet would be my preference. I bought both as novelty items but don't get on at all with the trumpet, as a brass band player this may in some way be put down to a preference for the cornet sound.

6. Feel My Rath

Feel My Rath Member

I really enjoy playing on my Pbone - it makes a very good sound considering what it is made from. I've heard some negative things about the Pbone Mini (pitched in Eb), so probably best to avoid those.