Orchestra or Brass Band

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by James McFadyen, Jan 24, 2004.

1. James McFadyen

James McFadyen New Member

What sound do you like best; Orchestra or Brass Band

As a composer, I studied classical orchestration for Symphony Orchestra and am totally in love with the symphonic colours, just wondered what the rest of you thought.

Personally I love big soundscapes and symphonic sounds and that is why my preference for the Orchestral sound dominates (if only a little) the Brass Band sound. I guess your preference will come from your own background and upbringing and most probably education.

2. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

Mmmm, for me both... both have their differences etc...

BUT, if I had to choose, it'll have to be orchestra due to the hundreds of different colours, textures and sounds that can be produced... Brass Bands don't have the same effect...

:)

3. Moy

Moy Active Member

I like beef and I like chicken...same with orchestras and bands.
    Depends on how it's served to me and the mood I am in.

4. James McFadyen

I'll add some gravy to it then Moira!
    :wink:

5. Rambo Chick

Rambo Chick Member

i agree with moy. depends on my mood and what i feel like listening to!! :D

Carolyn

6. Moy

Moy Active Member

and roast potatoes and veggies but that I thought you take for granted. :wink:

7. James McFadyen

8. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

:lol:
    that sped off topic quickly!

Must be an award for the fastest topic to go off topic! :lol:

:p

9. James McFadyen

Yea, I think soon as you talk about food, it all starts snowballing from there!

10. HBB

HBB Active Member

11. theMouthPiece Visitor Guide

Find more discussions like this one
    Brass Band
    orchestration
    soundscapes
    sounds
    Orchestra
  12. MRSH

MRSH Supporting Member

Hee-Hee.

Back on topic - Has to be orchestra for me.