Opening Bars

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by alanl58, Aug 9, 2004.

1. alanl58

alanl58 Member

How does your MD start a piece of music?

One school of thought is to count a single bar e.g. 1, 2, 3, 4 etc, the other is "Straight in" with no regard to tempo other than that remembered in rehearsal.

The 1,2,3,4 approach is fine, except where the first conducted bar is shorter for some instruments than others when the MD counts 1,2,3, and thus counting a few bars rest becomes difficult - usually for the bass trombone!

The "Straight in" approach at least starts the band together, but when the MD conducts a 3/4 piece in 4/4, it leaves the band to sort the mess out - and this happens occasionally when the MD has a "senior moment"...

I guess the well rehearsed bands will not worry, but like sight reading (on another thread) for more difficult parts, I find it essential to know where and when to start playing! Perhaps I am still a novice after all....

AlanL58
    Bude, Cornwall

2. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

Different MD's different strokes.

Both the 1234 and straight in on the down beat have their advocates.

I tend to just give 34 or 23 or 56 etc, rather than count a full bar - this at least gives people a chance to focus their attention on you before the piece starts.

Neil, our MD, almost always gives a full bar, though he is now starting to reduce it.

Some of the guest conductors we've had tend to do a straight in approach and, for professionals and very experienced players this is OK as they always give a clear indication of the tempo with the upbeat that you have to give before the first downbeat. People like Roy Newsome and Ian Brownbill seem to have the knack of getting you in correctly, but then they've had lots of practice. :lol: