Open University

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Leyfy, Aug 11, 2009.

1. Leyfy

Leyfy Active Member

Has anyone else done any courses with the OU?

I am currently working on my last project (ECA) for the first module for a MA in Education, and I've been really impressed with them. Really organised, clear structure, really helpful when you ring them for advice :tup
  2. andywooler

andywooler Supporting Member

I did an MBA with them and thoroughly enjoyed it - quality course content which I have used extensively since graduating. I have also worked with their Corporate University arm CORUS - my day job is all about the way we can use technology as learning tools for both formal and informal learning. (probably explains why I spend a lot of time on tMp, facebook & twiiter!) and OU have doen a lot of work in this area as well.

Like many OU students who graduated later in life, I always include the full OU designation for my degree when it's used - MBA (Open) and I have the utmost respect for anyone who has juggled work family and a Masters programme in this way.
    I recall many occasions when i was completing an assignment in an airline lounge or driving to my tutor to deliver the assignment (they have electronic submission now of course!) but well worth it.
    I did consider a Doctorate for a brief nanosecond but that would probably have finished me off!

Best of luck!
  3. Di B

Di B Member

Did a Cert in management and Dip Management with them. (Equivalent to mba stage 1)

I found that it depends on your tutor. Some are really good, positive and ensure that your study group gets along well. Others do what is necessary, no more.

I was lucky to get an excellent tutor followed by a reasonable tutor, but have known some drop out/switch classes due to lack of support.
    If you don't like your tutor do feel free to request another to make sure you get the best out of it.