One for the Ladies!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Daisy Chain, Apr 3, 2006.

1. Daisy Chain

Daisy Chain New Member

Hi guys,

I've been lurking for a long time so apologies that my first post is a very selfish one! I am an actor by trade and a Brass Bander in my spare time but occasionally the 2 things merge.... Anyone who goes to the theatre will know that actor-musician shows are very popular at the mo.

Anyway, my question is: has anyone discovered a brand of lipstick that you can wear whilst playing?!!! (It's not vanity - it's my job!!) I've tried Max Factor Lipfinity and, although it stays on, it clogs up the mouthpiece (and therefore the instrument) horribly and it is hard to play 'cleanly'. The most success I've had is with a lip / cheek stain by Benefit which has no effect on my playing but it is not dark enough for stage work. So if anyone has seen another form of 'stain' that might be worth trying or any other suggestions I'd be eternally grateful. The violinists in the cast always have beautiful glossy lips and I'd hate to be responsible for the reputation we brass players are the unglamourous ones ;) !!

Thanx, Daisy Chain xx

2. Jamie

Jamie Member

Er... not sure if it will be heavy duty enough, but that lipcote stuff works ok if you've got the patience to let it dry... Beyond that, I dont know! Doesn't it smear it all over your face?!:confused:

3. sugarandspice

sugarandspice Active Member

I was going to start a similar thread but for a different reason!

I've recently brought some Maybelline Super Stay lip gloss, its in two parts, the lip gloss then the lip balm stuff that goes over the top.

It's great stuff and stays on no matter what you attach your lips too, so i reckon it might be worth a try?

The trouble i'm having with it is getting it off in the morning! So if anyone has any ideas for that it would be a great help!

4. tinytimp

tinytimp Member