New would be cornet player

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Douglas Sewell, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Douglas Sewell

Douglas Sewell New Member

Hello all. Reaching age 77 in April and have always had an interest in musical instruments.
    Looking to buy a used cornet for my sins and currently practising "buzzing" on a 7C mouthpiece.
    Good days and bad days is my usual story and as I live in an isolated part of Scotland I have to be self taught through the wonderful internet. As at my age I am a denture wearer my embouchure is affected and I am usually better at buzzing with no teeth. Heaven knows what folks round here think when I walk the tracks buzzing away in my style but hey it is enjoyable and my breathing gets better. Not much cash but any ideas as to where I could get an old playable or repairable cornet (good with my hands) from? Can't wait to go off in the hills playing a good march and terrifying the sheep and rabbits, not to forgett the odd deer. Great forum by the way.

Suzi Q likes this.
  2. Douglas Sewell

Thanks for the trophy on my first message. What encouragement to get cracking.

3. julian

julian Active Member

Good luck with your hunt for a cornet - enjoy making music and don't worry about the sheep and rabbits!
    As for the breathing, many people benefit from playing wind instruments, especially those suffering from asthma or similar conditions.

4. Douglas Sewell

Thanks Julian. I am imagining standing on top the nearest high ground and playing "Over the hill to Skye" and the "Last Post " at the Commando monument in their ww2 training ground.A way To go yet!

Doug

5. Repman

Repman New Member

Welcome, i seem to recall a post somewhere from a slightly mature gent who gave up in his 60s owing to dentures, but then found a new dentist when he was in his 70s who said he just needed the right denture, and he did. wish i could find it but worth some research. Best of luck!

6. Repman

Repman New Member