New to the brass band world ......

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by silverpigeon, May 19, 2008.

1. silverpigeon

silverpigeon New Member

Hello,

Just thought it courteous to write an intro.

I'm new to the brass/silver band world (from a playing perspective), though living in Saddleworth all my life, Whit Friday and brass bands are a part of life, tradition and a BIG part of our year.

Always wanted to join a band and play an instrument so am 'starting' with the most expressive instrument I know - the B flat bass - which I'm assuming from trolling is written Bb bass (please correct me if I'm mistaken)

I can't play, but can (kinda) read music.

Looking forward to a lot of practice, hard work and laughs.

My screen name isn't owt to do with music, its the name of my favourite shotgun [Beretta Silver Pigeon] ...... my other hobby is game & clay pigeon shooting.

Everyone seems real friendly on here, so if you're a Bb bass player, expect some queries & lots of questions from an eager novice

Kind regards to all

2. Rodney

Rodney Member

Well hello Silver Pigeon frm a long way south of where you are.

I'm hoping to come to the Whit Friday march in 2010......with any luck so I'll have a beer with you - and hopefully, a lot of other people on tMP.

Cheers

3. Di

Di Active Member

Hi and :hi to tMP, and to the world of brass banding. :)

You'll certainly be able to pick up lots of tips and info and we look forward to hearing about your progress. :tup

4. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

I'm not an expert myself, but some people claim it is written as BBb bass (something to do with the instrument being an octave lower than other Bb instruments, like the euphonium and baritone) :rolleyes:

Welcome to the site!

5. TubaPete

TubaPete Member

And some write it as BBb Bass to designate it as a larger bore than the old Bb Basses!

Welcome to the world of tubas, silverpigeon - a place where nothing's as straight forward as it looks.

Pete