New to the Board

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Sid the Cornet, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Sid the Cornet

Sid the Cornet New Member

Hi all
    My name is Sid and I am learning to play the cornet (as ifyou couldn’t already guess).
    I felt compelled to register as a contributor having readthese pages for a year now, so bear with me if I ramble.
    Just over 2 years ago, I wife treated me to tickets to watcha well-known Brass Band play locally. Being a southerner and somewhat dubious at the time, I humoured her andwent along. I was so enthralled thatafter the concert I decided to have a go and duly bought a second hand cornetand booked a couple of taster lessons for the New Year. As of last month, I have been learning theCornet for 2 years. My wife believes thatit has become an obsession, but I know better.
    After 6 months I somehow I managed to convince a local BrassBand to let me have a go and 8 months later found myself promoted to 2[SUP]nd[/SUP]Cornet – probably more default than design. No matter how……onwards and upwards. I do have ambition to play at a higher level and maybe, just maybe….. Thistime next year, Rodney…….
    Anyway……my point.
    Having now done just over 18 months I find myself a littledismayed at some attitudes from other so called “bigger” bands. It may be naivety on my behalf being relativelynew to this game but there seems to be an awful lot of bitching and back bitingbetween bands going on and how much better they are.
    I was at an Entertainment Contest at the back end of lastyear and was dumbfounded at fellow Brass Banders laughing and sniggering atthose unfortunate enough to making the odd wrong note; obviously not everyoneis as skilled as them. Unfortunately weall have to start somewhere and some of us probably have to work at it a littleharder than others.