New Solo for Soprano or any other E flat Instrument

Discussion in ' User Reviews' started by Fendall, Mar 5, 2006.

1. Fendall

Fendall Member

Hi there,
    By way of introduction, I am the soprano cornet player for Waitakere Brass in NZ (one of Australasia's top bands) and current NZ national soprano champion. I have also written a full 20 minute concerto for E flat trumpet, and a shorter version of this is the set test for this year's Australian soprano championship.

I have recently completed the composition of a new solo called Definitions Part 1. As I am a relatively unknown composer, I have decided to give it away for free (solo music, piano accompaniment and recording) I have made a rough recording of me playing it. If you would like an mp3 copy sent, please message or email me at and tell me if you want the "low res" version (3.9 Mb) or the "high res" (7.8 Mb) with the pdf files of the sheet music.

I wrote it with soprano in mind, but some consider it best suited to E flat bass. I would also be interested in the opinion of a tenor horn player, but it probably wouldn't provide the "range" challenge, with the highest notes being B flats except for one optional top D.

I said this recording is"rough", and I provide the following excuses as to why you can tear holes in my playing (soprano players are always full of excuses, you should know that):

1. Unlike my concerto, I didn't write this solo specifically for me, so all I did while composing was check to see if it was playable.

2. I didn't actually practice it prior to recording, so was trying to get it to the stage where I could adequately produce the notes. I confess to having to splice together three different takes, and initially the slow movement was so bad in all three takes, I went back on another day and re-recorded it.