New Orchestral Work!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by TrumpetTom, Apr 22, 2011.

1. TrumpetTom

TrumpetTom Member

This is a recording of of my youth orchestra running through one of my compositions, with me conducting. I used the composition for one of two pieces of composition coursework for my GCSE (of which I am studying for at Holmfirth High School) and I used it as part of my Chethams School of Music application portfolio, where I was successful in gaining a place. It doesn't have all of the parts ect. as e.g. a few couldn't make it and so one or two parts had to be altered, but the effect of the piece isn't lost much at all by this.

The piece was originally named 'Forest of Horror', but I intended to use a choir, so wanted the words to sound scarier, so I typed 'forest of horror' into a translator on the internet and went through a few languages until I got to Norwegian and found 'Skog av Shrekk'!
    The opening is very medieval sounding because of the proportion of woodwind used and the stressed use of the tonic and dominant notes within many of the chords. The piece starts off quietly and gradually builds by the addition of instruments and dynamics.
    It then jumps into a serialistic, minimalistic section, where the violins and violas are playing a hexachord (which is built up dynamically and note by note) until loud bass notes from the hexachord enter in octaves from all of the lower instruments. A battle then begins to rage (with unpredictable semiquaver runs between the bass notes) between the woodwind and piano and the trumpets and xylophone, whilst the horns play a tune using the notes from the hexachord. The trumpets and xylophone win the battle and the top two trumpets carry on their runs, whilst the horns carry on their tune and the majority of the orchestra play Ds in octaves.