New member from the US

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Leo Perez, Dec 6, 2016.

1. Leo Perez

Leo Perez New Member

I'm a new member from the Orlando, Florida area. I started playing trombone in 1981, the summer before my freshman year of high school. I was a quick learner and by my junior year I was 1st chair All-Region and 1st alternate to All-State. I didn't pursue a musical career in college (Engineering instead) and so my horn went into the closet. Fast forward past marriage, 2 kids, and an engineering career that supports my trombone acquisition habit.. since January of 2016 I've been playing with a local community symphony and it's been a wonderful experience. My orchestra-mates are great musicians and the music selections have been challenging for the most part. What has also made the experience memorable is that I've been playing the bass trombone (a different animal than the 1st trombone parts I was used to).

I have numerous horns at home, but my main one is a Getzen Custom 3047AFR large bore tenor and a Kanstul MS169i independent bass trombone. I also have a soprano, a lovely satin silver Conn 6H and a one-of-a-kind Olds Custom. Sadly, the small bore tenors rarely leave their cases.

2. jobriant

jobriant Member

Hello, Leo, from the opposite coast of our continent!

I think it's good that you have a solid career in engineering to support your music habit! Supporting one's self (and a family) as a full-time musician is pretty difficult to do these days.