Nervous about learning after 36 years...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Deelee, Jun 27, 2016.

1. Deelee

Deelee New Member

Since going to see Grimethorpe Colliery Band over the years I feel the need to play brass again. Usual story, played trombone during school and at the college, once I left I took up the piano (only self taught). I am trying to pluck up the courage to go to a local band who have offered to help me.

My question is to those like me, did you feel the same and how did you overcome the nerves?

2nd tenor likes this.
  2. 2nd tenor

2nd tenor Active Member

Welcome to the site and hopefully to playing again.

I didn't have as long an absence as you but it was long enough and I gave up younger than you so maybe the two factors balance out. A particular player from a local band gave me free lessons to both get me restarted and then later to keep my development going - sometimes I play better than him now. Once reasonably competent ( a couple of months in ) I joined a training band and got used to spotty teenagers playing better than me. However, I set that to one side, did a lot of practice and before many months had past people were asking me when would I like to join the main band for some rehearsals. To get that far I had to laugh at my own mistakes, be a little humbled by the fact that kids were better than me and then say 'sod it' 'cause I don't give a dam what people think or say 'cause it's non of their business and I'm going to get better than them, etc.