My first attempt at golf!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Dave Payn, Feb 3, 2005.

1. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

Here on Arran, there are seven golf courses; five 9-hole, one 12-hole and one 18 hole course. I had my first stab at it today! Not bad, I guess. One of the courses (in Machrie) has a couple of mini 'practice holes' for complete beginners like me. (Luckily, for others, I was the only one hacking away at the practice holes!) It was a bit boggy in places and the 'fairway' was I reckon, 'light rough' but I managed to remember a few techniques one of the locals kindly passed on to me a few weeks ago and didn't lose a ball! (Well, not a GOLF ball...).

I shall stick it out to see if there's any noticeable improvement but suddenly, I'm pining for Tiger Woods 2005 on the XBOX. It's so much easier! My wrists hurt now! (Stop sniggering at the back, there! :))

Any other golfers here? What was your first stab at it like?

The nice thing about the Machrie course is (a) the locals are very welcoming and friendly and (b) the practice holes are free!
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2005
  2. WhatSharp?

WhatSharp? Active Member

NO DON'T DO IT! Golf aargh!.... a good walk spoilt.....the only sport where a white man can get away with looking like a pimp :D the only good thing about golf courses is that in the winter with a decent fall of snow you can go sledging on them! :D
  3. Sam Atherton

Sam Atherton Member

What he said :D . Golf is bad and wrong! Unless, of course, we're talking about crazy golf...
  4. Will the Sec

Will the Sec Active Member

My first attempt at golf was mixed. I hit the pin on the first hole at Chulmleigh in Devon, and was left with a six inch putt for a birdie. Elsom W, -1.

Each hole was a par 3, par 54 for the whole course. After my great start, I completed the course in 108, 54 over par.

Imagine how bad it would have been if I'd got a bogie or worse on the first!!!!
  5. Vickitorious

Vickitorious Active Member