My bad days..Sucks! Help please?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by xRinat, Jan 12, 2009.

1. xRinat

xRinat Member

Hello, I noticed that I have alot of "bad days" now and then.
    I know that to be a good solo cornet I must do the high notes as well as playing beautifull and steady, but I often have problems in reaching the high notes, I used to play in the up register alot and had no problems at all hitting the high notes, but now suddenly I got this bad issue...
    I play in two bands, wich gives me alot of excersizes but I kind of have the feeling that my upper register just gets worse. Sometimes I can play high, but sometimes I just try but cant.
    When I didn't have problems in reaching the high notes, I allways warmed down after playing the cornet, wich I think is important.. I never warm down anymore, can that be the problem? Is warming down important?
    I am not an expert on this, I just got 16 years old. Not to brag, I do have skills, and I want to raise this skill that high that I can have the confidence to have the thought of maybe be one of the best players in Norway.
    After summer I am becoming a Soprano cornet in my band, and I really want to make it good, since my band has been winning the Norwegian Championships for 5 years straight.

Please I am sorry if I bothered you guys of reading all of that, but I really want to increase my high tone playing. If anyone knows what the problem might be, write it here please.

And please answer the "is warming down really that important?"

2. Vegasbound

Vegasbound Active Member

I would suggest finding a good pro trumpet player and having lessons with them, it is hard for anyone to give advice with out hearing/seeing you play.

and yes if you are playing in the upper register for sustained periods of time then warming down becomes even more important!

3. joshy

joshy Member