Music relating to nursing etc

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Adamshorn, Oct 4, 2011.

1. Adamshorn

Adamshorn New Member

Ok so bit of a weird request but as part of our remembrance concert next month we'd like to get in a bit about an amazing nurse from the area who won best reservist at the Millie's last year for her work at Camp Bastion. We have all the info we need for the script but would love a piece of music to go after which we can somehow related to it. Doesn't have to be reflective type music. Any ideas?

2. Manxgirl

Manxgirl New Member

I am a Nurse - Gene Cotton
    Look for it on You Tube - you may be able to work something from it!

3. James Yelland

James Yelland Active Member

The patron saint of nurses is St. Agatha, but off the top of my head I can't recall a hymn tune of that name, unfortunately.

The closest I can get is A (Florence) Nightingale sang in Berkeley Square. Sorry.

4. StellaJohnson

StellaJohnson Active Member

Goff Richards did a lovely little piece written for a childrens hospice down in cornwall, my previous band bought it and we played it 2 or 3 years ago. The proceeds go to the hospice. I cannot remember the name of the piece though!! Special place ???

I can't remember what it was called!!! :confused:

5. SteveT

SteveT Member

Army Nurse!

The chances are she is a member of the Queen Alexandra Royal Army Nursing Corps, (QARANC.s). This being the case her corps march might be most appropriate, see this link. From memory I think it is called Grey and Scarlet.

http://www.qaranc.co.uk/qamarch.php

The librarian at Royal Military School of Music, Kneller Hall, should be able to help with dots.

Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  6. James Yelland

James Yelland Active Member

Almost - A Special Place.

7. pbirch

pbirch Member

Dean Goffins piece "Wonderful Healer" it is, however, really reflective

8. brassneck

brassneck Active Member