MULTI-INSTRUMENTALIST,"jack of all trades master of none?"

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by TIMBONE, Sep 25, 2004.

TIMBONE Active Member

How many instruments do you actually play? Is it possible to be of a good standard on more than one? What is the limit, two? three? My daughter has advanced grade on piano, grade 5 violin, grade 3 french horn, grade 2 flute, and sings in the Halle Choir.

I started on timpani & percussion, then moved onto kit. I also play piano, guitar and bass guitar. My main instrument is trombone, (which I studied at RNCM), and I have taught all brass instrumnents, including french horn, although as a performer I would not feel confident above 2nd tenor horn!!! Oh, and I can also make some kind of vocal sound, although you would have to ask a 'flixtonite' about the entertainment value, (they heard me singing at my wedding)!!!

So come on tMPers, how many instruments do you play, (or have you played), and do you know any good MULTI-INSTRUMENTALISTS?

Oh, I nearly forgot, there are several 12" vinyls knocking around with me playing the STYLOPHONE!!!
  2. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

I play:-
    Piano/keyboard; folk, classical, electric and bass guitars; Clarinet, flute and all saxophones; cornet, tenor horn, bari, euph, trombone, Eb Bass; Drum kit and ALL percussion (xylo, marimba, glock, timps, triangle... you knooooow the rest! :lol: ;-) )

I'm about grade 5 in brass, guitars and piano etc...
    Grade 8 percussion, clarinet and saxophone(s)....

Started learning when I was 6 and never stopped :-D

TIMBONE Active Member

Ahh Naomi, but can you play the mouth-organ, sorry, harmonica. I used to think that the only two notes in music were 'suck' and 'blow'.
  4. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

Oh yea I've got one of them too! :lol: ;-)
  5. Sellers_Bird

Sellers_Bird Active Member

im grade 8 on cornet and flute... so they say! oh, and grade 1 *distinction* on piano :D
  6. brassneck