Mouthpiece teething troubles!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by sunny_jimbob, Jan 5, 2004.

1. sunny_jimbob

sunny_jimbob Member

Help! I've outgrown my old mouthpiece, and have a nice shiny new one that's about twice the size! I started practicing on it as soon as the Christmas jobs were out of the way, and have been using it all through the holidays. Then tonight I went back to band. Argh! I couldn't pitch properly, I couldn't get my former dynamics, and I found it mega frustrating and it got me down a little (only a little!). Does anyone have any tips on something I could do to augment what I'm already doing, or is it simply a case of carrying on with the old 'practice practice practice' routine?

Thanks
    Nick

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    troubles
    something
    mouthpiece
    Christmas
    jobs
  3. floral_dance

floral_dance Member

Is it the same type and size of mpc or are there any changes, even the slightest change can affect your performance.

4. Okiedokie of Oz

Okiedokie of Oz Active Member

When I switched halfway through a tour from a DW3 to a VB12, I lost at least half my dynamic range. But my sound darkened, which was a nice trade off. As I adjusted to the mouthpiece, I got used to it.

Sometimes it's just a case of playing it properly. when practising alone, you may not have worked it as hard as when you're with the band.

5. sunny_jimbob

sunny_jimbob Member

It's a much bigger mouthpiece, gone from a normal wide bore trombone one that came with it (even though it's a bass) to a nice flashy Bach jobbo and the cup is way bigger.

It does sound marvellous on pedals, but mid range notes split and I just can't get the sound with them.

But yeah, that's what I suspected might be the case. Ah well, Christmas break's over and I'm playing with bands five nights a week so with a bit of luck it'll come good!

6. Okiedokie of Oz