Mouthpiece size

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by MHunt, Feb 7, 2007.

1. MHunt

MHunt New Member

Hi.

I'm currently playing my Eb with a dennis wick 3l. What do any other bass players use, and what do you find the differences to be for playing, sound etc?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    dennis
    Eb
    differences
    dennis wick
    Mouthpiece size Hi
  3. jamieow

jamieow Member

Hi, I used a 3L from when I started playing till around 5 yrs ago. Great for most things.
    I still have 1, also a couple of 24AW's - pretty std for bass players, certainly the EEb ones at least. They're kind of midway between a 3L and a 2L.
    Used a 2L more recently and on BBb (tried a 1L for a while - like a bucket)
    I now use a 24AW. Iam thinking of trying something new - any ideas??

4. on_castors

on_castors Member

Having just gone back to playing E flat bass after about 4 years on other stuff (and I still AM playing Baritone in my main band) I seem to have lost my Wick 2L which I had mainly used for years before that so I am using a 3L which is surprising me as being no problem. The Sovereign I am playing is fairly well in tune (although might get a bit better when I spend some more time on it) with all slides rammed firmly home, whereas in the past I used to play a little sharper on the 2L and needed the main slide out a touch. Although the size differnce isn't much,I find that a larger mouthpiece lets me blow a little sharper on baritone too, where a standard Bari m/p is VERY sharp for me, so a small shank large trombone mouthpiece means I can play with the tuning slide in a more normal position.