Mouthpiece Help!

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by pilgrim_pete, Jan 6, 2013.

1. pilgrim_pete

pilgrim_pete New Member

Hi brass banders,

Im a Euph player by trade, but for the new year, band requirements dictatate I play tenor trombone. Having never played trombone before and with the first rehersal just around the corner, I nned to know ASAP what mouthpiece I can use.
    The Band is providing a Conn 88H 'Bone for me, and I have a Conn 5CL large shank mouthpiece which I used with my euph.

Will this be suitable with a tenor trom??

2. Gazabone

Gazabone Member

The 5CL mouthpiece is the one that comes supplied with the instrument (or at least is was when I bought my 88H 11 years or so ago). However, that may not be the best mouthpiece for you so I would suggest trying a few out. I have a personal preference for Vincent Bach mouthpieces and I use a 6 1/2 BL and I would recommend starting your search with this but I emphasis it's a personal choice - not suitable for all.

I also use the same mouthpiece on the odd occasion I play euph.

The only thing you need to watch for is the 'bone mouthpieces come in 2 sizes to cover both Large and Medium bore instruments.

Welcome to the world of 'bone blowing - hope you enjoy it.
  3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Is it a 5CL or a 5G? The CL is the Christian Lindberg range, whereas the 88H comes supplied with a Conn 5G (and has done for many years, as far as I know).

The CL mouthpieces are a bit different from most, with as I recall, narrow rounded rims, funnel-shaped cups, and large throats. I'm sure they work wonderfully well for Mr Lindberg, but his playing requirements are not the same as for most of us - his needs are soloistic ones; he doesn't have to cut through a loud ensemble. Maybe they work well with euph - interesting idea.