Motivation to compose

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by its_jon, Nov 2, 2012.

1. its_jon

its_jon Member

If you compose music.

Where do you draw inspiration ?

Do you draw feeling from the heart and soul or are you event driven ?

Do you mainly compose to fulfil a need, or just for the fun of it ?

Self taught or influenced by tuition ?

Lastly, do you write exclusively for brass or a broader range of instrumentation ?
  2. Will the Sec

Will the Sec Active Member

I draw all my compositional inspiration from the circuitous discussions on tMP! I’m currently working on “The Dolly of Bolsover”.

Ahem - a spark of an idea can come from anywhere. For example, my last piece was borne out of an old memory that popped into my head for no apparent reason. I recalled in my mind a conductor I had seen many times over the years, a calm, precise, understated gentlemen conductor, who had been successful with a few different bands. On this one occasion, at an entertainments contest, he started Goff Richards’ "Stage Centre" with a minimalist 4 beats for nothing…. then conducted the first section like a whirling dervish on speed. The visual effect made the performance memorable, and with open adjudication, even the adjudicator saw and enjoyed the transformation! The one before that was borne out of a request on Facebook for ideas as I had exhausted my lifetime supply of ideas and so was truly working from scratch for the first time. In the end, I did not use any of the ideas suggested.

I prefer to work for my own reasons, but a time bound project is usually more productive in terms of time available versus compo block.

I mainly compose as an outlet for various frustrations. My first test piece was borne out of annoyance that a fourth section test piece was another repeat. Some pieces are for the fun of it, like “SopC”. Soprano players, look it up if you dare…