Montage (Peter Graham)

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by cornetcheese, May 21, 2004.

1. cornetcheese

cornetcheese Member

I have for a long time regarded "Montage" by Peter Graham as one of my favourite works for Brass Band, particularly as it explores several compositional areas which are not generally used in most works for band. However, I recently studied Lutoslawski's "Concerto for Orchestra" and was quite surprised to realise that the first movement (Intrada) follows the exact same shape as the first movement of Montage.

I know Peter Graham inscribed the first movement of his wind band transcription of Montage (which is called "Symphony for Wind Orchestra" I think) with the phrase "hommage to Witold Lutoslawski" which of course shows the intended link between the works but, as a composition student myself, I was wondering where the line between reference and plagerism can be drawn? The similarities between the works, which are obviously intended, are very close with the form, structure, rhythmic shape and even harmonies being identical in places (there are several direct quotes taken from the Intrada) but it was only by listening to the two works that I realised this!

I'm curious how other composers feel about this use of quotation and reference - a collegue of mine got into great trouble with publishers in the past because he directly quoted some material from Berio so I can see how this issue could be a bit touchy!
  2. I love peter graham's stuff but he seems to re-use musical ideas more than anyone else I've ever seen. It's dissapointing but hey he still rocks.
  3. fartycat

fartycat Member

Yeh, I know the Lutoslawski well and it cheesed me off when I played Montage. Tis a shame that the inscription was 'missing' off the brass band score - Lutoslawski was a hell of a composer and more people should go and listen to his work.