Microsoft Access 2003

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by savewaterdrinkbeer, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Hi, im a ICT Technician/Teacher at a school, some of the classes are having problems with the date format in access it is set as the american format, when i log on as administrator on the computer and change the settings, it does not keep the settings for when one of the kids log in and reverts back to the american setting.

the kids do not have any access to change settings so must be done by administrator.

does anybody have a clue of how to make this work??? i have been on microsofts website but cant find anything to help me.

hope to hear from you soon
  2. DaveR

DaveR Active Member

You need Mike Lyons - he's an expert with all things Microsoft. Drop him a pm if he doesn't see this message, he's a very helpful chap! :tup
  3. i have downloaded office 2003 sp2 so i'll see if that makes any difference
  4. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

Couple of questions - how is the system formatting the date? Is your region set to UK or US? This makes a difference to a number of things that Access might pick up on.

How are the kids setting up the date fields in the first place when they set up their tables? Are they using the wizard or doing it manually?

Where is the problem cropping up? Tables? Reports? forms? Access pages?

I have no problems on my Access 2003 at home. Some IT managers are lazy when distributing the Access package around the network and don;t use the UK settings! If you are using the US settings then you will get the US date format as well.

Just my thoughts.

If you sent me a copy of a database that is exhibiting the problem I might be able to work out the problem and a solution.