MD credentials

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by madandcrazytromboneguy, Jan 11, 2006.

1. hey folks and folkesses

as some of you may know, im starting to get involved with conducting bands, and i was wondering what you all think a young MD needs to be able to get into conducting properly.

im currently in my last year of the Band Studies course and this course has helped me a great deal to develop my own stick technique and to be confident enough to stand infront of a band and direct them.

i recently conducted in the 4th section at the manchester open championships at the uppermill civic hall and that was a great experience for me.

ive also applied for the vacant position at 1 of yorkshires promising young bands and i feel that if i get this position, it will be 1 that i can really make my own and put in the work needed long term.

do you think this is a good option for me to take on as a fairly new MD?

is anyone on tmp a new MD themselves?, did you find it hard to get a position in the 1st place?

hope to see your views on here soon

cheers, CLIVE!

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    MD
    Band Studies
    young MD
    MD credentials
    Band Studies course
  3. alanl58

alanl58 Member

Hi Madandcrazy

The first thing you need to learn is where the SHIFT key is on your computer. This will allow you to produce CVs (Curriculum Vitae) using the first person "I" rather than the sloppy "i"!!!!!

Seriously, though, if you cannot express yourself on an internet forum, who will take you seriously in the bandroom? Bands need to maintain standards, and unless you can demonstrate that, you stand little chance of gaining their respect. Sorry to sound a bit fuddy duddy but you did ask....

Good luck...

alanl58

4. i didnt ask to have sarcastic remarks put on about my typing, im on about the musical side of things, put it this way, a net forum, aint a brass band, now more musical remarks from now on please folks, cheers