Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Dave Payn, Jul 8, 2005.

1. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

'tis Payn by name, pain by nature. Many of you will already know that last October, I upped sticks and moved from London to be with my lovely girlfriend on the Isle of Arran. (We actually attended the same Saturday music school - the Centre for Young Musicians - at the same time in 1977 but never met until three years ago!) Yup, I'm still here! Not all roses, mind as I'm struggling to find regular work and therefore the finances to finally start my planned publishing business, but I am hoping to be selling a large, well known brass band catalogue when I finally get going. Not counting chickens so I'll reveal more later.

Anyway, some more of my past: I studied trumpet and piano at the Royal College of Music but things didn't quite work out as planned and left after a year. Nevertheless, I have tried to take on board what I learned there, at school and what I've learned performing in various ensembles over the years. As a player, I have been principal trumpet of Bromley Symphony Orchestra, Orpington Symphony Orchestra (with whom I performed the Hummel Trumpet Concerto in 1995) and Barnet Symphony Orchestra. Band wise, I've played in Bromley Concert Band, Royal Eltham Concert Band. Brass band wise, I've played in Crystal Palace Band, Fulham Brass Band and East London Brass. Conducting wise, the credits (if that's the right word... :)) read, Crystal Palace Band, Fulham Brass Band, Epsom and Ewell Silver, (as well as guesting for a number of other southern-based brass bands), Barnet Concert Band, Merton Concert Band and Harrow Concert Band. I've also occasionally conducted the choir of St John's East Dulwich with whom I conducted a choral evensong at Southwark Cathedral in 1999. I am also the brass band tutor for the annual Workers' Music Association Summer School.

You'd think it was about time I started learning how to conduct, wouldn't you :)