Long Gone Brass Bands

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Playabit, Jan 13, 2011.

1. Playabit

Playabit Member

I started playing in a brass band over 30yrs ago when i was about 12yrs old, my music teacher was playing for Greenalls, then known as Greenalls Champion Band under the baton of the late Jim Pearson. Along with my brother we was took to the band to start our brass banding life at the age of 12. It was such a different time in the brass band world then...No women in championship section, every town had a band, lots of carnivals and fetes to play at, conserts in the park...all these dont seem as plentyful now, except women in championship bands...Lol...;)

My town St Helens had many bands, looking back over the years i wonder what happened to them? When and where did they all go? I have tried to find a list of old bands within my area but i have drawn a blank...Does anyone know if there is a list or website that i can look at? Does anyone remember any bands that no longer exist...

Any advice or help would be very appreciated..:D

2. Janet Watkins

Janet Watkins Member

3. Playabit

Playabit Member

Is this any good? Fantastic, just what i was after, thanks very much, i owe you a drink or 2...so if ya ever at a contest come seek me out with Parr Band...ask for Peter on BBb...thanks very much..:D:D:D

4. P_S_Price

P_S_Price Member

Sadly there are so many Ex-SA Bands its a large list. Both from Corps that have closed, and Corps that can no longer sustain a Band.

5. Playabit

Playabit Member