Living without a Leg!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by meandmycornet, Jun 15, 2006.

1. meandmycornet

meandmycornet Active Member

Okay.... as most of you are aware... I managed to fracture my lower tibia at the whits, this means I have a lovely backslab cast on my leg, which I can't put any weight on, and therefore I can only get about with the help of my trusty crutches! BUT I can't carry anything or do anything when I'm wobbling around on my crutches!

I was wondering if anybody else had a similar experience and has any fantastic ideas of how to carry things (namely plates of food or a drink etc.) as I'm at my whits end (scuse the pun!) and i've only been in plaster for nearly 4 days!

Thanks very much
    Hoppy the Cripple
  2. DaveR

DaveR Active Member

Dear Hoppy,

Being lucky enough never to have broken a limb, I have no personal experience of this. However, it seems like a perfect opportunity to train everybody to wait on you hand and foot. Why carry your own plates and drinks when you can get someone else to do it for you? :tongue: I should enjoy it if I were you! ;)

Hope your leg gets better soon, and the plaster isn't too itchy! Have you bought yourself a knitting needle to scratch down inside the plaster?
  3. euphfanhan

euphfanhan Member

How on earth did you manage to stand on it for three days??? Lugging a big fat suitcase and a cornet practically all over Dorset???? No wonder your foot went black!
    When I broke my knee I was in a wheelchair for 6 weeks (it was a bad break!) so it was much easier to carry stuff, just put it on my lap! Not sure about crutches though! :tongue:

I agree with DaveR...get a slave!!
    Hope its better soon! xxx
  4. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

Ditto!! :biggrin:

Hope your leg heals fast....
  5. Liz Courts

Liz Courts Active Member

I'm sooooo looking forward to watching South Molton at Bugle on Saturday...!! Have you got any clever plans to make it nice and easy to get onto the stage?!