Lip problem

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by yooflou, May 20, 2013.

1. yooflou

yooflou Member

This may have been discussed before, but I have started to have a problem with the inside of my bottom lip. I seem to now have an area directly related to where the mouthpiece sits (I play baritone) that feels 'wrong'. A bit like the sharp taste of an ulcer but without the pain (thankfully). BUT it does affect my playing as it is 'drier' than the rest of the normal lip area inside and therefore is impacting on my playing flexibility. I have been playing for many many years, so not really sure why this should start now. I am not playing more, but I have changed bands and maybe playing harder/with more sound creating more pressure? Any thoughts on helping it heal/preventing it happening or any suggestions about anyone using a guard between the teeth and the lips (not sure how that would affect playing!) would be gratefully received.Thanks

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    guard
    rest
    normal lip area inside
    ulcer
    sharp taste
  3. pbirch

pbirch Member

sounds like a visit to your dentist is the thing to do, you might get some helpful (or not)comments here, but your dentist is best placed to help you.
    I am aways surprised by the number of brass and wind musicians who do not tell their dentist, or optician for that matter, about their playing and then struggle with mouth problems (and vision issues) and then go on to think that an internet chat forum might throw up the answer. A a rule, ulcers without pain should be taken seriously - see your dentist.

4. yooflou

yooflou Member

Handily I have an appointment with the dentist this week so will certainly discuss it with him. Thank you. If you could recommend a good optician who understands a (marching) brass bander's particular problems I would be all sorted!!

5. iffytboner

iffytboner Member